Sweet 16

Thepchaiya un-nooh was the first man to qualify for the Crucible with an excellent 10-6 victory over the impressive Joe O’Connor. Thepchaiya who recently won the snooker Shootout has continued to impress and will be a dangerous opponent for any of the seeds that he is drawn against in tomorrow’s main event draw.

Gary Wilson came through a 10-6 winner over for English open Winner Liang Wenbo. It’s a positive end to an up and down season for Wilson and he will be looking to win his first match at the Crucible to cement his place in the top 32.

Former World champion Graeme Dott rolled back the years with a vintage performance as he crushed howeveryoulikebreak.com player Kurt Maflin 10-2 in a very one sided match. Dott’s long potting and break building were of the highest calibre and he will be a real handful for whichever seed he is drawn against in tomorrow’s draw.

James Cahill was filled with joy as he came through a 10-6 winner against fellow amateur Michael Judge. Cahill will go down in history as the first amateur to qualify for the Crucible and his remarkable effort has also earned him a professional tour card for next season.

Cypriot number 1 Michael Georgiou will make his Crucible debut as he edged past Chinese prodigy Yan Bingtao in a hard fought match. Georgiou who has rapidly improved over the last 2 season’s will take his place at snooker’s holy grail and will surely give whichever seed he draws a very tough opener.

Anthony Mcgill made one of the greatest world championship qualifying comebacks as he battled back from 7-2 down to beat Robert Milkins 10-8. McGill showed concentration and class to battle back and will be full of confidence at the crucible next week.

Final qualifying round results 

Graeme dott 10-2 Kurt Maflin 

Thepchaiya un-nooh 10-6 Joe O’Connor 

Martin Gould 10-8 Daniel Wells

James Cahill 10-6 Michael judge 

Anthony Mcgill 10-8 Robert Milkins 

Michael Georgiou 10-8 Yan Bingtao 

Zhou Yuelong 10-6 Eden Sharav

Zhao Xingtong 10-4 Matthew Selt

Joe Perry 10-3 Martin O’Donnell 

Ali Carter 10-4 John Astley 

Mark Davis 10-7 Lyu Hoatian

Gary Wilson 10-7 Liang Wenbo

Li Hang 10-8 Ben Woollaston

Tian Pengfei 10-8 Matthew Stevens 

Luo Honghao 10-8 Tom Ford

Lu Ning 9-10 Scott Donaldson