Kyren Wilson (pictured above) continues his quest for his first triple crown event with a commanding 6-3 victory over Leicester’s Ben Woollaston and now faces the acid test of Ronnie O’Sullivan in the quarter finals. Wilson raced into a 4-0 interval lead aided by breaks of 58 and two breaks of 66 only for Woollaston to hit back by winning the first two frames after the interval. The turning point came in frame 7 where the Leicester man had a 56-0 lead and looked like closing the deficit to one frame but missed a tricky red with the rest which allowed Wilson in to clear up and take the frame to lead 5-2. Woollaston won the next but Wilson wrapped up victory with a break of 65 for a 6-3 victory.

Jack Lisowski’s dream of lifting his first ranking event is still alive as he beat the talented Iranian Hossein Vafaei 6-4 to book a quarter final showdown with China’s Zhao Xingtong which promises to be and exhibition of potting and break building.

Luca Brecel beat Anthony Hamilton 6-1 and booked his spot in the quarter finals for the second time at the iconic Barbican hall. Brecel has been in wonderful form this season and will strongly fancy his chances of a maiden Uk championship semi final.

Ronnie O’Sullivan beat the classy Thai cueist Noppon Saengkham 6-3 and will now face Kyren Wilson in the quarter finals. O’Sullivan was 3-2 down and fortunate not to go 4-2 down as Saengkham missed a string of chances to press home his advantage and paid the heaviest price and Ronnie recovered and reeled of the final 3 frames with breaks of 57,74 and 120 to wrap up victory.

Zhao Xingtong came through a tough last 16 encounter with the experienced Peter Lines by a 6-4 scoreline to book his first Uk championship quarter final and a mouthwatering clash with the exciting Jack Lisowski awaits this young Chinese Prodigy. Xingtong was in excellent break building form firing in breaks of 51,58,67,92 and 122 and his clash with Lisowski is one we cannot wait to see.

Here is the full list of last 16 results 

Jordan Brown3Anthony McGill6
Anthony Hamilton1Luca Brecel6
Kyren Wilson6Ben Woollaston3
Noppon Saengkham3Ronnie O’Sullivan6
Matthew Selt3Barry Hawkins6
David Gilbert5Andy Hicks6
Zhao Xintong6Peter Lines6
Jack Lisowski6Hossein Vafaei4