The Uk championship is one of the most prestigious tournaments on our calendar as all 128 professional players descend on the iconic Barbican centre for a magical 13 days of snooker.

7 time UK champion Ronnie O’Sullivan got this year’s campaign off with a 6-3 victory over the talented Michael White. O’Sullivan fired in back to back centuries on route to victory and looked in great form.

Defending champion Neil Robertson fell at the first hurdle with a shock 6-2 reverse against amateur John Astley and he wasn’t the only one to fall foul of the amateur curse as former winner Shaun Murphy also was downed in a deciding frame to China’s Si Jiahui.

Judd Trump Cruised into the last 64 with a thumping 6-1 victory over David Lilley.

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh produced the performance of the first round with an astonishing 5 centuries on route to a 5-1 demolition of Stephen Hendry.

Reigning world champion Mark Selby cruised through to the last 64 with a 6-2 victory over Ross Muir while fellow top 16 player Ding Junhui got the better of his compatriot Anda Zhang by the same scoreline.

There where also notable wins for Kyren Wilson, Mark Allen, Stephen Maguire and David Gilbert.

Gary Wilson fired In his 4th maximum break of his career in a 6-2 victory over Preston’s Ian Burns.

Here’s a full list of the other first round scores 

1Neil Robertson2John J Astley6
2Andrew Higginson4Mark Joyce6
3Scott Donaldson4Farakh Ajaib6
4Jordan Brown6Duane Jones4
5Anthony McGill6Iulian Boiko0
6David Grace6Peter Devlin2
7Zhou Yuelong6Chen Zifan1
8Mark Davis4Ashley Hugill6
9Li Hang6Mitchell Mann3
10Ricky Walden6Craig Steadman4
11Anthony Hamilton6Allan Taylor4
12Mark Williams6Lei Peifan3
13Luca Brecel6Xu Si2
14Tom Ford6Andrew Pagett1
15Tian Pengfei6Simon Lichtenberg5
16Stephen Maguire6Sanderson Lam3
17Kyren Wilson6Soheil Vahedi2
18Jak Jones6Oliver Lines4
19Lu Ning3Wu Yize6
20Matthew Stevens5Hammad Miah6
21Yan Bingtao6Ng On Yee0
22Ben Woollaston6Rory McLeod4
23Gary Wilson6Ian Burns2
24Liam Highfield6Jamie Wilson3
25Noppon Saengkham6Aaron Hill2
26Ali Carter6Jimmy White3
27Stuart Carrington6Zhao Jianbo1
28Stuart Bingham6Dean Young5
29Mark King6Jackson Page2
30Kurt Maflin3Gerard Greene6
31Nigel Bond4Robbie Williams6
32Ronnie O’Sullivan6Michael White3
33Judd Trump6David Lilley1
34Chris Wakelin6Jamie Clarke2
35Joe Perry6Fraser Patrick1
36Matthew Selt6Chang Bingyu5
37Barry Hawkins6Reanne Evans1
38Lyu Haotian2Gao Yang6
39Martin Gould6Barry Pinches1
40Jamie Jones1Cao Yupeng6
41Alexander Ursenbacher6Ben Hancorn5
42David Gilbert6Alfie Burden1
43Joe O’Connor6Fergal O’Brien4
44Mark Allen6Michael Judge2
45Michael Holt6Zak Surety4
46Liang Wenbo5Andy Hicks6
47Dominic Dale6Ashley Carty4
48Shaun Murphy5Si Jiahui6
49John Higgins6Michael Georgiou1
50Sunny Akani6Steven Hallworth2
51Zhao Xintong6Yuan SiJun4
52Thepchaiya Un-Nooh6Stephen Hendry1
53Ding Junhui6Zhang Anda2
54Sam Craigie6Ken Doherty3
55Ryan Day3Peter Lines6
56Elliot Slessor5Fan Zhengyi6
57Jimmy Robertson6Bai Langning5
58Graeme Dott6Jamie O’Neill3
59Martin O’Donnell6Lukas Kleckers3
60Jack Lisowski6Sean Maddocks0
61Robert Milkins6Louis Heathcote4
62Xiao Guodong6Zhang Jiankang2
63Hossein Vafaei6Pang Junxu4
64Mark Selby6Ross Muir2

Round 2 commences at 1pm