The shocks keep coming in this year’s UK championship as reigning world champion Mark Selby fell at the second hurdle against Iranian cueist Hossein Vafaei. The Iranian raced into a 5-0 lead only for Selby to claw back two frames to make the game slightly edgy but it was Vafaei who had a massive stroke of luck by flukeing the re-spotted black in frame 8 to run out a 6-2 winner.

Judd Trump cruised into the round of 32 with a 6-3 victory over Chris Wakelin while Sam Craigie had one of the best results of his career beating an off sorts Ding Junhui by the same scoreline.

Ronnie O’Sullivan continued his quest for an 8th Uk championship with a 6-2 victory over Robbie Williams. O’Sullivan trailed 2-1 then fired in 5 breaks of 50 plus to cruise to victory.

Stuart Bingham battled through his recent poof run with a convincing 6-2 victory over Stuart Carrington. Bingham recent for has been patchy but today’s performance was a positive sign that the 2015 world champion is starting to find his form.

Peter Lines continues his love affair with the UK championship as he cruised into the last 32 with a 6-3 victory over Fan Zhengyi. Lines who is a former quarter finalist here in York will now face Sam Craigie for a place in the last 16.

Here are all of the last 64 results 

John J Astley4Mark Joyce6
Farakh Ajaib1Jordan Brown6
Anthony McGill6David Grace4
Zhou Yuelong6Ashley Hugill2
Li Hang3Ricky Walden6
Anthony Hamilton5Mark Williams5
Luca Brecel6Tom Ford5
Tian Pengfei1Stephen Maguire6
Kyren Wilson6Jak Jones0
Wu Yize6Hammad Miah4
Yan Bingtao3Ben Woollaston6
Gary Wilson4Liam Highfield6
Noppon Saengkham6Ali Carter3
Stuart Carrington2Stuart Bingham6
Mark King6Gerard Greene2
Robbie Williams2Ronnie O’Sullivan6
Judd Trump6Chris Wakelin3
Joe Perry2Matthew Selt6
Barry Hawkins6Gao Yang1
Martin Gould3Cao Yupeng6
Alexander Ursenbacher3David Gilbert6
Joe O’Connor4Mark Allen6
Michael Holt5Andy Hicks6
Dominic Dale6Si Jiahui4
John Higgins6Sunny Akani3
Zhao Xintong6Thepchaiya Un-Nooh5
Ding Junhui3Sam Craigie6
Peter Lines6Fan Zhengyi3
Jimmy Robertson2Graeme Dott6
Martin O’Donnell4Jack Lisowski6
Robert Milkins2Xiao Guodong6
Hossein Vafaei6Mark Selby2

Play resumes tomorrow at 1pm