In just over 12 hours we see the start of  The British Open return to the World Snooker Tour for the first time in 17 years when it takes place at the Morningside Arena in Leicester. It commences tomorrow Monday 16th August at 9am until 22nd August .

Previously, The British Open was ever present on the calendar from 1985 to 2004 and has been won by some of the best players in the world including Steve Davis, Jimmy White, Stephen Hendry, Ronnie O’Sullivan, Mark Williams, Paul Hunter and John Higgins.

All matches up to the last 16 are best of five frames, the quarter and semi-finals are best of seven frames, and the final is best of 11 frames.

With a winners cheque of £100,000 there is going to be stiff competition to reach the finals .

Here is an overview of some of the key events that spectators will be able to see first hand

John Higgins vs Alexander Ursenbacher – Monday 16th August 1pm

John Higgins was the last winner of the British Open all the way back in 2004. He has been drawn against Swiss number one Alexander Ursenbacher in an intriguing opening round tie.

Judd Trump vs Mitchell Mann – Monday 16th August 7pm

We see the World number one Judd Trump will get his campaign underway by facing Mitchell Mann. Last season we saw Trump racking up five ranking title wins and Mann is looking to secure a win this season .

Mark Allen vs Reanne Evans – Monday 16th August 7pm (second match)

Allen is a former Masters champion and will be competing against the 12-time women’s World Champion Reanne Evans .

Here is an overview of players competing tomorrow

Robbie WilliamsvSunny Akani
Steven HallworthvJoe O’Connor
Xu SivFan Zhengyi
Zhang AndavJohn J Astley
Liang WenbovSimon Lichtenberg
Andrew HigginsonvJordan Brown
Dylan EmeryvGao Yang
Jak JonesvLyu Haotian
Alexander UrsenbachervJohn Higgins
Yuan SiJunvLouis Heathcote
Ben WoollastonvHammad Miah
Chen ZifanvFarakh Ajaib
Zak SuretyvKen Doherty
Gerard GreenevMartin O’Donnell
Mark WilliamsvTian Pengfei
Aaron HillvJimmy White
Matthew SeltvThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Mitchell MannvJudd Trump
Ashley CartyvBai Langning
David LilleyvCraig Steadman
Ian BurnsvMichael White
Stuart CarringtonvLiam Highfield
Mark AllenvReanne Evans
Zhou YuelongvTom Ford

Chris Wakelin vs Stephen Hendry – Tuesday 17th August 7pm (second match)

Scotland’s seven-time World Champion Stephen Hendry will make his much anticipated first appearance of the season when he takes on Chris Wakelin

Mark Selby vs Shaun Murphy – Tuesday 17th August 7pm

We see Leicester’s very own World Champion Mark Selby is drawn against Shaun Murphy . This is going to be an thrilling encounter between Selby and Murphy and is a repeat of this year’s Crucible final, which Selby won 18-15 to claim a fourth world title.

The event will be the first snooker event of the 2021/22 season to welcome a crowd